Community Spotlight

What is Utah Film Center’s Community Spotlight program? Utah Film Center is sharing its online streaming platform to allow community groups to elevate their mission and message through film. We think of it as a virtual venue rental where nonprofits can “gather” to watch a film and dive deep into meaningful discussions. We are glad to offer a creative way to help nonprofits build and rally their community no matter where people are.  

Who does it serve? Utah Film Center is offering this program to Utah-based nonprofits and regional mission-based organizations.  Though we are open to expanding outside of Utah if there is a local connection or if the screening provides cultural value to the Utah community. 

How does it work? You can pick the content, topic of conversation, and discussion participants and we’ll produce the event with our online streaming platform and technical know-how.

Find out how to request a Community Spotlight screening for your organization.

Upcoming Events

Community Spotlight

Tuesday, September 28 @ 7:00 PM

Live Stream

Labeled Fest is a series of ideas and advocacy events focusing on ending the stigma in mental health, disability, developmental, recovery, and other marginalized issues …

Available September 28 – October 4

Community Spotlight

Thursday, October 7 @ 7:00 PM

Live Stream

Presented by the Utah Museum of Fine Arts in conjunction with Space Maker  Like many artists around the globe, faculty at the University of Utah’s School …

Community Spotlight

Thursday, October 14 @ 7:00 PM

Live Stream

The League of Utah Writers is proud to partner with the Utah Film Center to screen Alice Walker: Beauty in Truth, a documentary about her …

Past Events

EXCURSION
Thursday, August 26, 2021 @ 7:00 pm
Live Stream
NA KAMALEI: MEN OF HULA
Friday, August 20, 2021 @ 7:00 pm
Live Stream
US KIDS
Sunday, June 13, 2021 @ 4:00 pm
Live Stream
91%
Saturday, June 12, 2021 @ 7:00 pm
Live Stream
BEHIND THE BULLET
Friday, June 11, 2021 @ 7:00 pm
Live Stream
WHAT'S ON YOUR MIND? ENDING STIGMA IN MENTAL HEALTH
Thursday, May 20, 2021 @ 7:00 pm
Live Stream
MATANGI/MAYA/M.I.A.
Thursday, April 22, 2021 @ 7:30 pm
Live Stream
(RE)CURRENT UNREST
Thursday, March 25, 2021 @ 6:30 pm
Live Stream
ON THE TOPIC OF LOVE... (CONVERSATION & CLIPS)
Thursday, February 18, 2021 @ 6:30 pm
Live Stream
RESILIENCE: The Biology of Stress & The Science of Hope
Thursday, February 4, 2021 @ 7:00 pm
Live Stream