Two Utah Film Center supported projects nominated for Gotham Awards Best Documentary!

The 2018 IFP Gotham Awards nominations were announced on October 18th and we are proud that two projects supported through our Fiscal Sponsorship programBisbee ’17 and Won’t You Be My Neighbor, were nominated for Best Documentary. Additionally, Minding the Gap which we screened in May with director Bing Liu was also nominated in the same category.  Congratulations to all the nominees!

Update (October 22, 2018): We just confirmed that we will be screening Hale County This Morning, This Evening and Madeline’s Madeline in December, details coming soon!

The Gotham Awards ceremony will be held on Monday, November 26th at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. Scroll down to see all of this year’s nominees.

Best Documentary

  • Bisbee ‘17
    Robert Greene, director; Douglas Tirola, Susan Bedusa, Bennett Elliott, producers (4th Row Films)
  • Hale County This Morning, This Evening
    RaMell Ross, director; RaMell Ross, Joslyn Barnes, Su Kim, producers (The Cinema Guild)
  • Minding the Gap
    Bing Liu, director; Diane Quon, Bing Liu, producers (Hulu & Magnolia Pictures)
  • Shirkers
    Sandi Tan, director; Sandi Tan, Jessica Levin, Maya Rudolph, producers (Netflix)
  • Won’t You Be My Neighbor?
    Morgan Neville, director; Morgan Neville, Caryn Capotosto, Nicholas Ma, producers (Focus Features)

Best Feature

  • The Favourite
    Yorgos Lanthimos, director; Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Yorgos Lanthimos, producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
  • First Reformed
    Paul Schrader, director; Jack Binder, Greg Clark, Victoria Hill, Gary Hamilton, Deepak Sikka, Christine Vachon, David Hinojosa, Frank Murray, producers (A24)
  • If Beale Street Could Talk
    Barry Jenkins, director; Adele Romanski, Sara Murphy, Barry Jenkins, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Megan Ellison, producers (Annapurna Pictures)
  • Madeline’s Madeline
    Josephine Decker, director; Krista Parris, Elizabeth Rao, producers (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
  • The Rider
    Chloé Zhao, director; Bert Hamelinck, Sacha Ben Harroche, Mollye Asher, Chloé Zhao, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

  • Ari Aster for Hereditary (A24)
  • Bo Burnham for Eighth Grade (A24)
  • Jennifer Fox for The Tale (HBO)
  • Crystal Moselle for Skate Kitchen (Magnolia Pictures)
  • Boots Riley for Sorry to Bother You (Annapurna Pictures)

Best Screenplay

  • The Favourite, Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
  • First Reformed, Paul Schrader (A24)
  • Private Life, Tamara Jenkins (Netflix)
  • Support the Girls, Andrew Bujalski (Magnolia Pictures)
  • Thoroughbreds, Cory Finley (Focus Features)

Best Actor

  • Adam Driver in BlacKkKlansman (Focus Features)
  • Ben Foster in Leave No Trace (Bleecker Street)
  • Richard E. Grant in Can You Ever Forgive Me? (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
  • Ethan Hawke in First Reformed (A24)
  • Lakeith Stanfield in Sorry to Bother You (Annapurna Pictures)

Best Actress*

  • Glenn Close in The Wife (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • Toni Collette in Hereditary (A24)
  • Kathryn Hahn in Private Life (Netflix)
  • Regina Hall in Support the Girls (Magnolia Pictures)
  • Michelle Pfeiffer in Where is Kyra? (Paladin and Great Point Media)

*The 2018 Best Actress nominating committee also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award to Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz for their ensemble performance in The Favourite. (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Breakthrough Actor

  • Yalitza Aparicio in Roma (Netflix)
  • Elsie Fisher in Eighth Grade (A24)
  • Helena Howard in Madeline’s Madeline (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
  • KiKi Layne in If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna Pictures)
  • Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie in Leave No Trace (Bleecker Street)

Breakthrough Series – Long Form

  • Alias Grace
    Sarah Polley, Mary Harron, Noreen Halpern, executive producers (Netflix)
  • Big Mouth
    Nick Kroll, Andrew Goldberg, Jennifer Flackett, Mark Levin, creators; Nick Kroll, Andrew Goldberg, Mark Levin & Jennifer Flackett, executive producers (Netflix)
  • The End of the F***ing World
    Andy Baker, Murray Ferguson, Petra Fried, Ed MacDonald, Dominic Buchanan, Jonathan Entwistle, executive producers (Netflix)
  • Killing Eve
    Sally Woodward Gentle, Lee Morris, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, executive producers (BBC America)
  • Pose
    Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals, creators; Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Nina Jacobson, Brad Simpson, Alexis Martin Woodall, Sherry Marsh, executive producers (FX Networks)
  • Sharp Objects
    Marti Noxon, creator; Marti Noxon, Jason Blum, Gillian Flynn, Amy Adams, Jean-Marc Vallée, Nathan Ross, Gregg Fienberg, Charles Layton, Marci Wiseman, Jessica Rhoades, executive producers (HBO)

Breakthrough Series – Short Form

  • 195 Lewis
    Chanelle Aponte Pearson and Rae Leone Allen, creators
  • Cleaner Daze
    Tess Sweet and Daniel Gambelin, creators
  • Distance
    Alex Dobrenko, creator
  • The F Word
    Nicole Opper, creator
  • She’s the Ticket
    Nadia Hallgren, creator

Learn more about the Gotham Awards by visiting their website.


Skip to content